Daily word food

Life is already too short to waste on speed. I have a friend who’s always in a hurry; he never gets anywhere. Walking makes the world much bigger and thus more interesting. You have time to observe the details. The utopian technologists foresee a future for us in which distance is annihilated. … To be everywhere at once is to be nowhere forever, if you ask me.

~ Edward Abbey (1927-1989)

 

I’m a sucker for arms up in the air in beautiful places. Combination of “holy shit where am I?!” and the need to take in every ounce of life and love of this wild land. But no jumping….don’t you ever ask me to jump in a photo damnit.

~ Kalen Thorien

 

Fill your life with stories to tell, not stuff to show.

~ unknown

 

i weaved in real Indian stories…stories I was collecting in the field in connection with my work in Indian Linguistics — that’s how the whole thing started, and of cors friends of ours used to borrow the stories to tell them to their own children (and also in those days of the prohibition era when our house in Berkeley was sort of headquarters for all the young men and University students who were rebels — in those days we kept open house and there was always a crowd of ten to fifteen people sleeping it off here and there on the porch in the children’s room everywhere and arguing for those were good days (but too much drinking) and complete thoro sexual freedom they called it “Jaime’s gang” and I was accused of every crime all those stories about me only one-third were true and how the University hated me!

~ Jaime de Angulo (1887-1950), undated letter to Ezra Pound (1885-1972)

 

I was born to be wild. But only until like 9pm ish.

~ Jainee Dial (b.1981)

 

No matter how big or soft or warm your bed is you still have to get out of it.

~ Grace Slick (b. 1939)

 

Most of my life is spent looking forward to my next moment alone.

~ Sophia Amoruso (b. 1984)

 

People empty me. I have to get away to refill.

~Charles Bukowski (1920-1994)

 

Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great.

~ Mark Twain (1835-1910)

 

Going to the mountains is going home . . . The mountains offer endless strength; the forests, enduring peace. And here, in the heart of nature, I find myself.

~ Sarah Duprey (b. 1994)

 

I’m such an incredibly, stupidly sensitive person that everything that happens to me, I experience it really intensely. I feel everything very deeply. And when you feel things deeply and you think about things a lot and you think about how you feel, you learn a lot about yourself. And when you know yourself, you know life.

~ Fiona Apple (b. 1977) #FionaApple

 

You have to leave the city of your comfort and go into the wilderness of your intuition. What you’ll discover is wonderful. What you’ll discover is yourself.

~ Alan Alda (b. 1936)

 

Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.

~ Buddha

____________

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

