Pierced navel pierces the mandala…

Lovely Kalen Thorien, one of my favorite professional outdoor badass women, has this new vid out, Presented by Outside magazine; A Locals Project Production.  All the guys out there– and half the women — are madly in love with Kalen, naturally!

You can follow Kalen’s website here:

https://www.kalenthorien.com/

and watch the new video here:

https://www.outsideonline.com/2188061/inside-pro-skier-kalen-thoriens-gear-shed

Inside Pro Skier Kalen Thorien’s Gear Shed

May 31, 2017

intro text: Pro Skier and adventurer Kalen Thorien is based in Salt Lake City, but she lives a nomadic lifestyle made possible thanks to an old Toyota Land Cruiser and the Bigfoot trailer she pulls with it. We caught up with Kalen outside of Salt Lake to talk about her Cruiser and camper setup, how she manages her gear, and what she loves about life on the road. 

[The following is my transcript:]

Kalen:

It’s been really great to be able to just move with the seasons, and and go where I wanna go. It allows me to go to all the places that I really love, and not have to sacrifice being stuck, owning a home or renting a place.

My name is Kalen Thorien. I’m a professional skier and adventurer from Salt Lake City, Utah. I’ve lived in Salt Lake, on and off, for about ten years. And I’ve been living in this trailer for two years, now.

My Land Cruiser’s name is Frances. I’ve had her since long before the trailer, and she’s an old ’86 diesel Land Cruiser. She is a little powerhouse; got about 250,000 miles on her; and so far, so good. It’s been my best purchase in my life. She’s a rust bucket, but she goes. She pulls this pain-in-the-ass, right here, so… (laughs). I guess if I had to describe the set-up, Land Cruiser Frances and Bigfoot the Trailer, they would definitely be “Dream Maker”, cuz it’s just totally made so many dreams come true, as cheesy as that sounds.

So, welcome! This is a 1993 Bigfoot trailer. It’s a fiberglass trailer. And I’ve had this thing for about two years, now. And I’d say about this trailer, that I’m definitely not roughing it, by any means.

So this is my kitchen: I’ve got a fridge; there’s not a lot in there right now. Four-burner stove; even have an oven, which is great. And usually cook with red wine — not in the food, but I like to drink it while I cook. I cook a lot. I do tons of salads and cold foods when I’m down in the desert, or it’s summertime. And in the winter, I’m a Ramen Big Soup Nerd. Honestly, I eat a lot healthier because I have to eat fairly simple. So this has really, really been great. I splurged on non-breakable cookware; you can, like, whack people with this, and it won’t shatter. And up here, got little individual Ikea compartment holders.

The nice part about living in such a small space, and traveling, is: you’re really forced to live simply. You definitely have to just really figure out what’s important to you. Like, “Do I use this?” “Am I gonna use this? more than once?” Like, “Do I really need this?”

I’ve got my Library of Sophistication, so it looks like I study things. And over here, we have my Gretsch hollow-body bass [guitar]. I got her last summer, and been playing as much as I can, and it’s just been a nice way to pass the time. So far, I’ve been putting [taped to the ceiling] photos and everything from my travels, places I’ve been, either with or without the trailer, places that make me really happy.

This [bed] is where the magic happens — as in: me, sleeping by myself…a lot! (laughs). My favorite part about sleeping in here is knowing that where I’m waking up is just the best place that I could possibly be. It’s somewhere that I actually wanna be. And it usually means there’s an adventure ahead, and there’s something to do. And I love the fact that the outdoors is right at my front door. And, you know, it’s pretty rare to get that, unless you have a million dollars, or a camper!

I didn’t want to deal with the whole septic system. So I changed my ‘wet-bath’ into a ‘wet gear-room’ (laughs). And it basically holds: all the climbing gear; mountaineering gear; canyoneering gear; powder [snow]-wear; tents; backpacks; climbing shoes; ice axes; yoga mats; laundry; — the works. And, yeah, it’s worked out a lot better (laughs). It’s a ‘good use of space’ (laughs).

The nomadic lifestyle has really given me a confidence. It forces you to really, you know, really rely on yourself, and to keep a calm head. You know, it’s taught me the importance of the friendships that you make, and the people you meet along the way, and not to just shake someone off. And then, lastly, it’s given me such appreciation for the here and now. You can’t predict tomorrow. Just step out your front door, and look around, and just take-in your surroundings. Because it’s really about this moment, and who you are, and loving that, and being OK with that, and just really being grateful….

—–

Leave a Reply

