Badges? What badges? (part II)

Hear me now and understand
He’s gonna find me some peace of mind
And if that peace of mind won’t stay
I’m gonna find myself a better way
And if that better way ain’t so
I’ll ride with the tide and go with the flow
And that’s why I keep on shoutin’ in your ear sayin’
Wo, wo, wo, wo, wo!

~ from “Mockingbird” written by Charlie Foxx, recorded by Inez and Charlie Foxx (1963)

 

Nancy Pierpan (Rachel Weisz): It’s hard enough to grieve, isn’t it? (sniffles) I mean, grief is hard enough anyway, but when you don’t know the truth, everything freezes and you can’t move on. …I’m like you, I go to work, I get through the day. Since Jake died, I haven’t been interested in making friends. Please, it’s nothing dramatic. I’m not asking for anything, but… You seem a nice man. I’m not really used to the idea of having feelings again.
Johnny Worricker (Bill Nighy): It’s dangerous, isn’t it?
Nancy: Too dangerous for you?
Johnny: I’m frightened. I fuck everything up.
Nancy: Shh. (leans in to kiss him)

~ Page Eight, written and directed by David Hare (2011)

 

Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet.

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

 

Sometimes I stare in space
Tears all over my face

I can’t explain it, don’t understand it
I ain’t never felt like this before
Now that funny feeling has me amazed
Don’t know what to do, my head’s in a haze
It’s like a heat wave!

~ Martha (Reeves) and the Vandellas, Heatwave (1963),(written by Lamont Dozier, Brian Holland, Eddie Holland)

 
Time is a game played beautifully by children.

~ Heraclitus

 

British Intelligence (MI 5) officer Johnny Worricker (Bill Nighy), sits over drinks with his artist daughter, Julianne (Felicity Jones), following the opening of her first professional gallery show:

Julianne: So? You haven’t said what you thought.
Johnny: No.
Julianne: Why not?
Johnny: Don’t look at me like that.
Julianne: Why not?
Johnny: Because I never could refuse you.
Julianne: You could tell me the truth. For once in your life, you might try telling me the truth.
Johnny: Only if you insist.
Julianne: I insist.
Johnny: All right. They look like works of despair. If the despair isn’t real, then I don’t like them because they’re fake, they’re unfelt. They’re avant-garde protest and nothing more. But if the despair is real, then that hurts, too, because…because you’re my daughter, and I don’t want you to suffer.
Julianne: They’re not fake.
Johnny: That’s what I thought.

Julianne: So what bothers you? If I’m unhappy then it’s your fault? They make you feel guilty? The absent father, the evasive father?
Johnny: The pictures are morbid. They’re morbid, Julianne. Okay, I can see it may be my problem to do with getting older, but why do you want to piss on life before you’ve even lived it?
(Julianne gets up in a huff and exits).

Later, at home with his new girlfriend, Nancy Pierpan (Rachel Weisz), whose father is a celebrated writer…

Johnny: Tonight I felt I had the right to say [to his daughter Julianne] what I thought about her work. Clearly I didn’t.
Nancy: Same thing’s true with writers. Well, you can say what you like about their personalities because they think, “Oh, I can change, I can improve.” But work’s different.

~ Page Eight, written and directed by David Hare (2011)

 

Writing for the sake of writing, writing that draws its credibility from its very existence, is a foreign idea to most Americans. As a culture, we want cash on the barrel head, we want writing to earn dollars and cents so that it makes sense to us, we have a conception—which is naïve and misplaced—that being published has to do with being “good” while not being published has to do with being “amateur.” We treat the unpublished writer as though he or she suffers an embarrassing case of unrequited love.

~ Julia Cameron. The Writer’s Life: Insights from The Right Way to Write. (2001)  

 

We can express our feelings regarding the world around us either by poetic or by descriptive means. I prefer to express myself metaphorically. Let me stress: metaphorically, not symbolically. A symbol contains within itself a definite meaning, certain intellectual formula, while metaphor is an image. An image possessing the same distinguishing features as the world it represents. An image — as opposed to a symbol — is indefinite in meaning. One cannot speak of the infinite world by applying tools that are definite and finite. We can analyse the formula that constitutes a symbol, while metaphor is a being-within-itself, it’s a monomial. It falls apart at any attempt of touching it.

~ Andrei Tarkovsky (1932-1986)

 

Listen now and understand
She’s gonna find me some peace of mind
And if that peace of mind won’t stay
I’m gonna find myself a better way
I might rise above, I might go below
I’ll ride with the tide and go with the flow
And that’s why I keep on shoutin’ in your ears y’all
No, no, no, no, no, no, now, now, baby!

~ from “Mockingbird” written by Charlie Foxx, recorded by Inez and Charlie Foxx (1963)

_________________________________________________

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

