October music, Autumn silence

Image result for adrian scott stokes autumn in the mountains

Adrian Scott Stokes (1854-1935), Autumn in the Mountains,
exhibited 1903
tempera on canvas, 800 x 1067mm, Tate Museum, London

Image result for adrian scott stokes


On hill and valley and stream, is lain the spell of silence; and the deep stillness of the air is unbroken…

Elizabeth J. Eames, “An Autumn Reverie,” October 1840

Image result for wordsworth

Wild is the music of autumnal winds
Amongst the faded woods.
—William Wordsworth (1770-1850)

Image result for william blake

The spirits of the air live on the smells
Of fruit; and joy, with pinions light, roves round
The gardens, or sits singing in the trees…
—William Blake (1757-1827), “To Autumn”

And in my heart, sweet Autumn, thou art the awakener of many, many things. At thy touch the deep fountain of memory is stirred, and its shadowy bank is thronged with many cherished images and hallowed recollections of the Past!

Elizabeth J. Eames, “An Autumn Reverie,” October 1840

Boggy Blog Editor: Gotta love the series of short videos about Erik Gordon and his Carabiner Coffee Co. Here’s one video, along with my transcript of the text:

“There’s so much beauty in life, and there’s so much adventure. I’ve always been in love with that fact: that you can wake up every day, and every one of those days is a chance that you get to change your life into anything you want it to be.

My name is Erik Gordon, and I own Carabiner Coffee. I do this because I want to share that love and that passion with everybody I meet. Life is so much more that just money and stuff. It’s about connecting, and being in amazing places, and sharing those places with each other.

There have been so many challenges to overcome, since starting Carabiner Coffee, it is impossible to list them all. I’ve gone through everything from being refused to be permitted in different cities and states, to having pipes in the van burst, and having things blow up in the van. It’s just been kind of a non-stop gauntlet of things that you have to deal with. But really, that’s what it’s all about, anyways. I think everybody that starts a business has to go through those growing pains and get those hard times out of the way.

Well, every dirt-bag climber wants a VW van, it’s just—it’s a fact. And so, when I decided that I wanted to start Carabiner Coffee, I knew that that’s exactly what I wanted to do, was start it out of a van. Owning one of these vans, you get—you’re a part of this greater community that is always helping each other out.

“Find your line” is a saying that I’ve been living my life by, ever since I started Carabiner Coffee. And it really just has to do with waking up every day and making every day great, and making it your own, and doing things that get you outside, and make you happy, whatever that is. And I feel like it’s just a great reminder, every day, that you can make life into whatever you want it to be, and you can find your line through anything.

For me, Carabiner Coffee is really about getting great coffee into the hands of everybody who loves to chase adventure. Coffee is such an amazing way to bring the outdoor community together and to be able to inspire one another. We all come from different places and have different stories to tell, and what I wanted to do with Carabiner Coffee is hear as many of those stories as possible.

Whether you run into me making coffee out of the van, or I’m shipping coffee right to your door, I’m honored to be able to connect with all of the customers and be able to inspire everybody to get out there and do something they love to do, every single day.”

I like Paula’s version of this old chestnut the best of all I’ve heard…

^^^^^ OOOOO ^^^^^

Leave a Reply

