Jug Band Music – The Lovin Spoonful (1966) lead singer & songwriter John Sebastian (b1944) age 22

 

Jug Band Music

by John Sebastian, recorded 1966 by his band,

The Lovin’ Spoonful

(forgive the wonky line-spacing  —  this dratted blog platform, crazily, has no consistent

line-spacing option!) 

I was down in Savannah
eatin’ cream and bananas
when the heat just made me faint.

I began to get cross-eyed
I thought I was lost
I’d begun to see things as they ain’t.

As the relatives gathered

to see what’s the matter
the doctor came to see was I dyin’.

But the doctor said,

“Give ‘m jug band music,
it seems to make ‘m feel just fine.”

I was told a little tale

about a skinny-as-a-rail
eight-foot cowboy with a headache

He was hung up in the desert, swattin’ rats
an’ tryin’ ta get a drink of water

with his knees a-gettin’ mud-caked

And I’ll tell you in a sentence

how he stumbled into Memphis, Tennessee
hardly crawlin’, lookin’ dust-baked

We gave ‘m little water,

a little bit of wine.
We opened up his eyes

but they didn’t seem to shine.

And the doctor said,

“Give ‘m jug band music,
it seems to make ‘m feel just fine.”

So if you ever get sickly,
get sister, run quickly

to the dusty closet shelf.

And pull down a washboard,

and play a guitar chord,
And do a little do-it-yourself.

Call on your neighbors

to put down their labors,
and come and play the hardware in time.

‘Cuz the doctor said,

“Give ‘m jug band music,
it seems to make ‘m feel just fine.”

I was floatin’ in the ocean,
Greased with suntan lotion,
When I got wiped out by a beach boy.

He was surfin’ when he hit me

but jumped off his board to get me,
And he dragged me by the armpit like a child’s toy.

As we staggered into land

with all the waiters eatin’ sandwiches,

and tried to mooch a towel

from the hoi poloi,

he emptied out his eardrums,

I emptied out mine.
And everybody knows,

that the very last line is

The doctor said,

“Give ‘m jug band music,
it seems to make ‘m feel just fine!”

And the doctor said,

“Give ‘m jug band music,
it seems to make ‘m feel just fine!”

 

Recorded by The Lovin’ Spoonful

Daydream LP (1966) Kama Sutra Records

Written by John Sebastian (b.1944)

Copyright ©

BMG Rights Management

US, LLC, Carlin America Inc

alternate instrumental track (above)  with vocals

 

Leave a Reply

